We Give You Your ACM 2014 Recap!

April 9, 2014

ACM 2014

This past Sunday night, the 49th annual Academy of Country Music Awards touched down at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas. With a guest list including the best of the best country artists from all over, the awards ceremony was one for the books! Country favorites, Luke Bryan and Blake Shelton co-hosted the event and of course made it that much better to watch.

The list of performances also made this night unforgettable. With an opening performance by The Band Perry to “Chainsaw”, the song got the show rolling. Other performances included a duet from Blake Shelton and Shakira to their song “Medicine”, as well as performances by Florida Georgia Line, Brad Paisley, Keith Urban, Luke Bryan, Kip Moore, Lee Brice, Jason Aldean, Miranda Lambert, Rascal Flatts and many, many more. The full performance list included two-dozen performances. Take a look at the full list here: http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/music/2014/04/06/academy-of-country-music-awards-performance-highlights/7383391/

When it comes to the actual awards, it was a tough-go due to the amount of talent that was in competition. The award of “Entertainer of the Year” was picked up by George Strait for the second time. The “Album of the Year” award went to Kacey Musgraves for her album, Same Trailer Different Park. Other winners include Miranda Lambert, The Band Perry, Jason Aldean, Lee Brice and more!

Check out the full list of winners below:

Entertainer of the Year
Luke Bryan
Miranda Lambert
Blake Shelton
George Strait – WINNER!
Taylor Swift

Male Vocalist of the Year
Jason Aldean – WINNER!
Lee Brice
Luke Bryan
Blake Shelton
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year
Sheryl Crow
Miranda Lambert – WINNER!
Kacey Musgraves
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood

Vocal Duo of the Year Nominees
Big & Rich
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line – WINNER!
Love and Theft
Thompson Square

Vocal Group of the Year
Eli Young Band
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
The Band Perry – WINNER!
Zac Brown Band

New Artist of the Year
Brett Eldredge
Justin Moore – WINNER!
Kip Moore

Album of the Year
Blake Shelton, ‘Based on a True Story…’
Luke Bryan, ‘Crash My Party’
Florida Georgia Line, ‘Here’s to the Good Times’
Kacey Musgraves, ‘Same Trailer Different Park’ – WINNER!
Tim McGraw, ‘Two Lanes of Freedom’

Song of the Year
Gary Allan, ‘Every Storm (Runs Out of Rain)’
Lee Brice, ‘I Drive Your Truck’ – WINNER!
Miranda Lambert, ‘Mama’s Broken Heart’
Blake Shelton, ‘Mine Would Be You’
Darius Rucker, ‘Wagon Wheel’

Single Record of the Year
Florida Georgia Line, ‘Cruise’
Tim McGraw (Feat. Taylor Swift and Keith Urban), ‘Highway Don’t Care’
Lee Brice, ‘I Drive Your Truck’
Miranda Lambert, ‘Mama’s Broken Heart’ – WINNER!
Darius Rucker (Feat. Lady Antebellum), ‘Wagon Wheel’

Video of the Year
The Band Perry, ‘Better Dig Two’
Kacey Musgraves, ‘Blowin’ Smoke’
Tim McGraw (Feat. Taylor Swift and Keith Urban), ‘Highway Don’t Care’ – WINNER!
Lee Brice, ‘I Drive Your Truck
Miranda Lambert, ‘Mama’s Broken Heart’
Carrie Underwood, ‘Two Black Cadillacs’

Vocal Event of the Year
Blake Shelton (Feat. Pistol Annies and Friends), ‘Boys ‘Round Here’
Florida Georgia Line (Feat. Nelly), ‘Cruise (Remix)’
Tim McGraw (Feat. Taylor Swift and Keith Urban), ‘Highway Don’t Care’
Darius Rucker (Feat. Lady Antebellum), ‘Wagon Wheel’
Keith Urban and Miranda Lambert, ‘We Were Us’ – WINNER!

 [Full list provided by TasteofCountry.com]

Although this year’s awards were very close, we always love to see who takes home the gold! Until next year, folks.

Be sure to let us know what you thought of the awards by tweeting us at @weknowthedj.

– Alana K. (@alanakellyMD)

Leave a Reply

View more videos