’12 Years A Slave’ And ‘The Butler’ Lead the Way At The 45th NAACP Image Awards

March 1, 2014

 12 years

On Saturday evening Anthony Anderson hosted the 45th annual NAACP Image Awards at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium and Steve McQueen’s incredibly hard-hitting story of slavery in America ’12 Years A Slave’ caught the lion’s share of attention from the voting members.

The film was awarded the Top Motion Picture honors with McQueen receiving the Image Award for Director, the captivating Lupita Nyong’o taking the award for Supporting Actress and writer John Ridley, the Screenplay award.

the butler

Forest Whitaker’s outstanding performance in ‘The Butler’ was duly recognised as he received the Actor in a Motion Picture award as well as the NAACP’s Chairman’s Award for his humanitarian work. His co-star David Oyelowo scooped the Supporting Actor prize.

Moving away from those two Oscar-bound leviathans of cinema, the film ‘Black Nativity’ gave Angela Bassett the Actress prize and continuing with the leading ladies, Kerry Washington took home the award for Lead Actress in prize-winning drama series ‘Scandal’

kevin hart

Comedian Kevin Hart took home the coveted Entertainer of the Year award and was also named Outstanding Actor in a Comedy Series for ‘real Husbands of Hollywood’ – a series which in itself won the award for Outstanding Comedy.

In a night which saw the NAACP – the oldest and largest civil rights organization in the U.S – honouring some incredible cinematic masterpieces, perhaps the most thought-provoking moment came in the form of a beautiful and moving tribute to the late South African President Nelson Mandela, provided by Oprah Winfrey.

Full list of winners from the 45th NAACP Image Awards:

Motion Picture: “12 Years a Slave”

Directing: Steve McQueen ’12 Years a Slave’

Actor:Forest Whitaker for ‘Lee Daniels’ The Butler’

Actress: Angela Bassett for “Black Nativity”

Supporting Actor: David Oyelowo for ‘Lee Daniels’ The Butler’

Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong’o for “12 Years a Slave”

Writing (Motion Picture  – Theatrical or Television): John Ridley, ’12 Years a Slave’

Independent Motion Picture: ‘Fruitvale Station’

International Motion Picture: ‘War Witch’

Documentary: ‘Free Angela and All Political Prisoners’

Entertainer of the year: Kevin Hart


Drama Series: ‘Scandal’

Actress in a Drama Series: Kerry Washington for ‘Scandal’

Actor in a Drama Series: LL Cool J for ‘NCIS: Los Angeles’

Supporting Actress in a Drama Series: Taraji P. Henson for ‘Person of Interest’

Supporting Actor in a Drama Series: Joe Morton for ‘Scandal’

Directing in a Dramatic Series: Regina King, ‘Southland’

Writing in a Dramatic Series: Janine Sherman Barrois for ‘Criminal Minds’

-Lucy Jenkins.


Leave a Reply

View more videos