Beyoncé Runs The World!

December 13, 2013


For most people, the end of the year symbolizes a time to look back at the memories and events experienced over the past twelve months. Music fans all over the world are praising the fact that Beyoncé isn’t “most people” and it seems as if December 13th is just the beginning for Queen Bey! As the clock hit midnight on Friday morning, Beyoncé shocked the world with a completely unannounced album. But even better, the star’s fifth studio album, self-titled Beyoncé, is a completely unannounced visual album! Not only have fans been treated to 14 brand new tracks but they’ve also received a music video for every single song PLUS bonus video footage!! Nothing says TGIF like brand-new Beyoncé!

Although her early-2011 track Run The World insists that girls run the world, December 13th is the day Beyoncé proves she’s the one that truly runs this world. Who else could release an album with absolutely no promotion and sell over 80,000 copies within it’s first three hours?! The iTunes exclusive visual album is expected to début at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 when the chart is revealed on Wednesday, two days before the album becomes available in stores. We’d say we’re surprised—but we’re not!

Bey isn’t reaching these milestones alone, she has brought Drake, Frank Ocean, husband Jay Z and daughter Blue Ivy along for the ride. The Nothing Was The Same Canadian rapper joins Beyoncé on “Mine” while Frank Ocean appears on “Superpower” as his second collaboration with Bey—they also collaborated on “I Miss You” back in 2011. Making her fifth album a family affair, Jay Z joins his wife on “Drunk In Love” and daughter Blue Ivy makes an appearance in “Blue.” With features from husband and daughter, we can only imagine the sounds heard around Beyoncé’s dinner table.

While announcing Beyoncé on her Facebook page, Beyoncé said, “When I’m connected to something, I immediately see a visual or a series of images that are tied to a feeling or an emotion, a memory from my childhood, thoughts about life, my dreams or my fantasies. And they’re all connected to the music.” This statement alone proves how connected Beyoncé feels to this most recent release, especially since every track is accompanied by a music video! We’ve posted the entire track list below and want you to head over to iTunes so you can experience the effects of Beyoncé! Also, send us a tweet at @weknowthedj and let us know your thoughts on Beyoncé and the release method of the album!


Meg C. (@meganciampo)


Track list

1. Pretty Hurts

2. Haunted

3. Drunk in Love featuring Jay Z

4. Blow

5. No Angel

6. Partition

7. Jealous

8. Rocket

9. Mine featuring Drake

10. XO

11. Flawless featuring Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche

12. Superpower featuring Frank Ocean

13. Heaven

14. Blue featuring Blue Ivy

Leave a Reply

View more videos