2013 ACMs Recap!

April 10, 2013

Country music’s biggest night, the 2013 ACM awards was held in Las Vegas, Nevada this year with two of our favourites as the Co-Hosts, Blake Shelton and Luke Bryan. With expected wins, unexpected losses and flawless performances we’ve got all the details you’ll need to know here!

We witnessed a stripped down and soulful performance from Blake Shelton to kick off the night with his new single, “Boys ‘Round Here” joined by his Co-Host Luke Bryan along with Sheryl Crow, Pistol Annies, Gwen Sebastian and Brad Paisley. The momentum of the night carried through with performances from Kenny Chesney, George Strait, Florida Georgia Line and Lady Antebellum.

Miranda Lambert came out on top with the most trophies out of all her fellow nominees, one of which included her fourth consecutive win for Female Vocalist of the Year. Luke Bryan however stakes claim to the ACMs’ biggest honor as Entertainer of the Year which was his first time being nominated in the fan-voted category. Choking back his tears, he accepted his award with a humbling speech thanking those that helped him get to where he is today, “Thank you so much for making my life what it is…This is the defining moment of my life, and I’ll never take it for granted.”

Watch Luke accept his award and deliver is heart-warming speech:

Eric Church’s album “Chief” followed its CMA win with a ACM Album of the Year win while Miranda and her husband Blake also took home a CMA-ACM duplicate for Song of the Year with their tribute to Blake’s late brother, “Over You.” The track also won Miranda and her producers Single of the Year. Jason Aldean was awarded his first ACM trophy in the Male Vocalist category while Little Black Town was victorious in their first wins for Vocal Group and Video of the Year. What came as a surprise to some was Taylor Swift walking away with no awards in all 4 categories she was nominated for despite her tremendously successful year with her new music.

The award presentations only took up a small fraction of the 3 hour program as most of the Award show was dedicated to amazing live music. The Band Perry, Jana Kramer, Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Little Big Town, Brantley Gilbert, Miranda Lambert, Hunter Hayes all performed their latest radio singles. Carrie Underwood (unofficially) took home the award for best prop of the night as she rolled onto stage in a car for her song, “Two Black Cadillacs.” As the first time ever performing live together, Garth Brooks and George Strait hit the stage. And of course, the living legend Stevie Wonder closed the evening with a performance first with Hunter Hayes and afterwards with the Co-Hosts Luke Bryan and Blake Shelton.

Here are some of the nights best performances in case you missed it:

Carrie Underwood – Two Black Cadillacs

Eric Church – Like Jesus Does

Kenny Chesney – Pirate Flag

Stevie Wonder – Signed Sealed Delivered

Did you anticipate any of the wins from the night? Or disagree with the results of certain categories? Tweet @WeKnowTheDj to tell us about it!

Full list of 2013 ACM Winners:

Entertainer of the Year
· Jason Aldean
· *Luke Bryan – WINNER
· Miranda Lambert
· Blake Shelton
· Taylor Swift

Male Vocalist of the Year
· *Jason Aldean – WINNER
· Luke Bryan
· Eric Church
· Toby Keith
· Blake Shelton

Female Vocalist of the Year
· *Miranda Lambert – WINNER
· Martina McBride
· Kacey Musgraves
· Taylor Swift
· Carrie Underwood

Vocal Duo of the Year
· Big & Rich
· Florida Georgia Line
· Love and Theft
· Sugarland
· *Thompson Square – WINNERS

Vocal Group of the Year
· The Band Perry
· Eli Young Band
· Lady Antebellum
· *Little Big Town – WINNERS
· Zac Brown Band

New Artist of the Year
· *Florida Georgia Line – WINNERS
· Brantley Gilbert
· Jana Kramer

Album of the Year [Award goes to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company]
· Blown Away – Carrie Underwood (19/Arista Nashville)
Produced by: Mark Bright
· *Chief – Eric Church (EMI-Nashville) – WINNER
Produced by: Jay Joyce

· Red – Taylor Swift (Big Machine Records)
Produced by: Jeff Bhasker, Nathan Chapman, Dann Huff, Jacknife Lee, Max Martin, Shellback, Taylor Swift, Butch Walker, Dan Wilson
· tailgates & tanlines – Luke Bryan (Capitol Nashville)
Produced by: Mark Bright, Jeff Stevens
· Tornado – Little Big Town (Capitol Nashville)
Produced by: Jay Joyce

Single Record of the Year [Award to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company]
· “Even If It Breaks Your Heart” – Eli Young Band (Republic Nashville)
Produced by: Mike Wrucke
· *”Over You” – Miranda Lambert (RCA) – WINNER
Produced by: Chuck Ainlay, Frank Liddell, Glenn Worf
· “Pontoon” – Little Big Town (Capitol Nashville)
Produced by: Jay Joyce
· “Springsteen” – Eric Church (EMI-Nashville)
Produced by: Jay Joyce
· “Wanted” – Hunter Hayes (Atlantic/WMN)
Produced by: Hunter Hayes, Dann Huff

Song of the Year [Award to Composer(s)/Publisher(s)/Artist(s)]
· “A Woman Like You” – Lee Brice
Composers: Phil Barton, Johnny Bulford, Jon Stone
Publishers: 3JB Music (BMI), Adios Pantalones (SESAC), Hears That Skyline Music (SESAC), Sixteen Stars Music (BMI), Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. (BMI)
· “Even If It Breaks Your Heart” – Eli Young Band
Composers: Will Hoge, Eric Paslay
Publishers: Cal IV Songs (ASCAP), Will Hoge Music (BMI)
· *”Over You” – Miranda Lambert
Composers: Miranda Lambert, Blake Shelton – WINNERS

Publishers: Pink Dog Publishing (BMI), Sony ATV/Tree Publishing (BMI)
· “Springsteen” – Eric Church
Composers: Eric Church, Jeff Hyde, Ryan Tyndell
Publishers: Bug Music (BMI), Ole Purple Cape Music (BMI), Sinnerlina (BMI), Sony ATV/Tree Publishing (BMI)
· “Wanted” – Hunter Hayes
Composers: Hunter Hayes, Troy Verges
Publishers: Happy Little Man Publishing (BMI), Songs From The Engine Room (BMI), Songs Of Universal Inc. (BMI)

Songwriter of the Year
· Rodney Clawson
· *Dallas Davidson – WINNER
· Josh Kear
· Luke Laird
· Shane McAnally

Video of the Year [Award to Producer(s)/Director(s)/Artist(s)] *(Off Camera Award) [TIE]
·” Creepin'” – Eric Church
Producer: Iris Baker Director: Peter Zavadil · Merry Go ‘Round – Kacey Musgraves
Producers: Perry Bean, Kacey Musgraves Director: Perry Bean
*· “Tornado” – Little Big Town – WINNER
Producer: Iris Baker Director: Shane Drake
· “Wanted” – Hunter Hayes Producers: Stephanie Reeves, Eric Williams Directors: Traci Goudie, Patrick Hubik
· “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together” – Taylor Swift Producer: John Nguyen Director: Declan Whitebloom
· “The Wind” – Zac Brown Band Producer: Ben Kalina Director: Mike Judge

Vocal Event of the Year [Award to Artist(s)/Producer(s)/Record Company] *(Off Camera Award)
· “Don’t Rush” – Kelly Clarkson Featuring Vince Gill (19/RCA/Columbia Nashville) Produced by: Dann Huff
· “Easy” – Rascal Flatts Featuring Natasha Bedingfield (Big Machine Records) Produced by: Dann Huff, Brian Kennedy, Rascal Flatts
·”Feel Like a Rock Star” – Kenny Chesney (Duet With Tim McGraw) (Blue Chair/BNA) Produced by: Buddy Cannon, Kenny Chesney
· “Let It Rain” – David Nail Featuring Sarah Buxton (MCA Nashville) Produced by: Chuck Ainlay, Frank Liddell
*· “The Only Way I Know” – Jason Aldean With Luke Bryan & Eric Church (Broken Bow) Produced by: Michael Knox – WINNER

– Sara Soulati


Feature Image Credit: Asia G./@asiagousse


Leave a Reply

View more videos